301 URL Redirection

4. EC + SC (EN).png

In this article, you'll be introduced to:

1. What is 301 Redirect?

 A 301 redirect is a permanent redirect that passes between 90-99% of link equity (ranking power) to the redirected page. 301 refers to the HTTP status code for this type of redirect.

In most instances, the 301 redirect is the best method for implementing redirects on a website.

 

2. Why do I need 301 Redirect?

It is common practice to redirect one URL to another. When doing this, it is critical to observe best practices in order to maintain SEO value.

The 301 redirect is preferable for both users and search engines. Serving a 301 indicates to both browsers and search engine bots that the page has moved permanently. Search engines interpret this to mean that not only has the page changed location, but that the content—or an updated version of it—can be found at the new URL. The engines will carry any link weighting from the original page to the new URL.

 

3. When do I need 301 Redirect?

If you expect customers will still click on the store URL which is no longer valid or existing, you can use 301 redirect to lead customers to the new URL permanently. Enter the invalid URL in the "old URL" field and redirect them to the new store URL.

 

4. How do I set up 301 Redirect?

In the SHOPLINE Admin, go to [Settings] > [Domain Settings] and select the 301 Redirect tab. If you are using the e-Commerce or Social Commerce plan, you can use this feature without installation.

You can see which old URLs are redirecting to which new URLs on this listing tab. You can also delete the setting when the URL is no longer in need of 301 redirections.

ScreenMerchants can also add new redirection to the list. Simply add the old URL and the new URL you would like it to be redirected to. Remember to click Add and check the listing page after input.

*Note: Currently only English alphabets, numbers, and specified special symbols "= ? [ ] _ -" are supported. If Chinese or characters other than the 6 special symbols marked in black above are entered, there may be an error prompt after upon clicking "Add."

Screenshot

 

 

 
 
 
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments