Order status and operation

Feature update date: 2016/09/23

Old order placement flow and status update process:

When customers use credit card payment (Paypal Express / Old Paypal Standard/ Allpay / ECPay  / LINEPAY/ Dragonpay), once they click “Place Order” at checkout, inventory will be deducted immediately.

 

If payment process is successful, order will appear in admin panel. Order status will be “open” and payment status will indicate as “paid”.

 

If customer encounter issues during the payment process (e.g. invalid card number, lost internet connection, etc), these incomplete/failed orders will not be shown in the admin panel. Merchants will not know the existence of these orders and could not follow-up on such orders, resulting in loss of sales.

 

Based on this situation, the system has made important changes and optimisation.

New order placement flow and status update process:

When “Place Order” is clicked, inventory is still immediately deducted.

 

All orders placed will reflect in the admin panel right after the customer has clicked “Place Order”. It does not matter payment is successful or not in this stage. Orders will now be in sync with inventory.

Merchants can now view all placed orders and follow up on orders with incomplete payment. This will help to improve sales and this order behavior is widely implemented by e-commerce platforms.

 

If payment process is successful, order will appear in admin panel. Order status will be “open” and payment status will indicate as “paid”.

 

If customer did not successfully complete their payment during specific time frame, order status will remain as “Open” but system will determine payment as failed and change payment status as “Failed”.

“Failed” payment status means:

Customer could not complete payment process successfully, he/she may have encountered problems during the process e.g. invalid card number, lost internet connection, left the site in the middle of the payment process, etc. This will result in system determining payment as failed.

 

The valid time frame for the system to determine payment failure varies for each payment method, details are as follow:

Paypal Express: 72 hours

Old Paypal Standard: 1 hour

O'pay: 1 hour (If customer did not click "confirm" on Allpay checkout page, payment will fail in 1 hour time)

LINEPAY: 1 hour

Dragonpay: 48 hours

*Braintree, Stripe and Asiapay are not redirection payment gateways so they will immediately reflect if payment is successful or not.

 

When the payment status indicates as “failed”, merchants can deal with the order with one of the following methods:

  1. Apart from merchants, customers can also see their order with payment status as “failed”. Thus, the merchant can reach out to the customer and ask the customer to pay by other methods. Once the payment is made, the merchant can manually update the payment status as “paid” again.
  2. Merchants can manually cancel the orders themselves. 
  3. If manual cancellation is inconvenient for merchants, merchants can turn on the "automatic cancellation" function under order settings. By cancelling, system will automatically cancel orders with “failed” payment status and restore inventory stock and promotion code usage. 

 

Inventory and order will be in sync from this update onwards. This will be particularly convenient for merchants to manage orders during group buy and promotion periods with sudden surge in orders.

When order status is “cancelled”, deducted inventory will be reversed and added back to original inventory. Also, if there is applied promotion code in the order, usage will also be reversed and the code can be reused.

Please note that there is one special situation where merchants cannot change a "cancelled" order status:

The store has product A and it only has 1 inventory stock.

When customer 1 places an order to buy product A, the remaining inventory 1 will be deducted and will change to 0.

If customer encounters issue during payment, the system will determine the order with failed payment and automatically cancel the order. Inventory will restore back to 1.

Customer 2 then places an order to buy product A and the order successfully processes. Inventory is deducted and changed to 0.

At the same time, customer 1 contacts the merchant to pay for product A via other methods. The merchant tries to change the order status from "cancelled" to "confirmed" but this cannot be changed because the remaining inventory has been deducted in customer 2's order already. There is no other inventory for deduction, the system will pop up an error message.

 

Promotion code also share similar effect as the above case.

If the promotion code can only be applied once and customer 2 applied the "recovered" promotion code, when customer 1 pays via other methods, the merchant will try to change the order status from "cancelled" to "confirmed" but this cannot be changed because the promotion code has been used in customer 2's order already. The system cannot use the same coupon code for application and hence, the system will pop up an error message.





Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk